Yay! A Successful First Day on this year’s Camino.

I started out this morning in good spirits, I was finally heading out to resume my Camino. I had already scoped out the route out of Bilbao, so I confidently and happily began my trek. I took the lesser traveled “unofficial” route along the left bank of the Nervion River (at least that’s what the people at the next table said it’s called).

Just getting going gave me a sense of relief, like I had been holding my breath and the first step out the door this morning was a big exhale.

As I was getting along the road, after a while some mild worry crept up. Was this route waymarked? I hadn’t seen any yellow marks or arrows and I wasn’t sure this route would have any.

**note: if you don’t know much about the Camino…there are yellow arrows and markings along your route to help you find your way. They are painted, stickers, and I even saw a chalk marking today.

I knew it would be a relatively easy path to follow, but the waymarkers are very reassuring and much desired.

And then I saw it, my first yellow arrow….

And it gave me such unexpected joy. I was flooded with happiness and a sense of safety and calm….who knew a simple yellow arrow could mean so much. Being totally alone on this journey, I was nervous. That simple yellow arrow said I was going the right way. I was doing a good job, I was on the right path and somehow…I was going to be just fine.

And then it was almost funny how many arrows and markings there were today. I had a moment of wondering who does them, who makes sure the way is marked? Whoever marked the route I was on today is like me….having mild anxiety. I imagined them putting an arrow, and then worrying a pilgrim would miss it, and putting a few more arrows to be sure even the most inattentive pilgrim would go the right way. It was almost comical how many arrows there were. Nope, there would be no getting lost today!😁

Despite being along a river heading towards the coast, it wasn’t very pretty most of the day. The route is along the road and through many industrial areas. That said, there were definitely some scenic spots.

The next highlight was my first “buen Camino!” See, people who realize you are a pilgrim will often wish you a buen Camino (good camino). It is a kind and heartfelt offering of goodwill to a stranger, and it feels good to receive it. Today….It was a kindly older gentleman who passed by and wished me my first buen Camino of the trip this year. It seriously brought tears to my eyes, it filled me with joy, and it felt so nice. I’m sure he had no idea how much his simple wish meant to me. Remember, sometimes the smallest act of kindness on your part has far reaching impact on the other person….even if you never know it. So, everyone, commit to acts of kindness as often as possible, you never know who’s day will be changed by it!

The rest of the day was good….plodding along. Learning how to be okay with being uncomfortable. I didn’t seriously think carrying a 20 pound backpack for 10 miles was going to be easy and comfy, did I? So, mostly areas took turns…hip flexors achy, then shoulders, then feet….got a couple blisters already today 😣. But…It was somewhere between mild discomfort and pain, nothing too excruciating and definitely bearable.

I got to Portugalete from across the river and enjoyed a trip on the historic Viscaya hanging bridge (like UNESCO historic…first of its kind). Pretty cool.

I found my albergue (like a hostel but even more “rustic” and usually only for pilgrims). I was the first one there…I got checked in, showered, changed ….and headed out to a nice lunch. I asked the owner for suggestions, and he nailed it. I ended up having a 3 course lunch for about $15 (including wine). Uh huh, and the food was good too. After that…I went back to the albergue and laid down for a quick rest…and woke up 2 hours later. By then, the place was filling up and there were several others resting on beds (It is a room with about 20 bunk beds).

Groggy from my extended nap and the heat of the non-air conditioned room…I took my time but eventually prepared to head back out. Surely outside would be cooler. I walked back down to the river area and enjoyed the scenery awhile. Now….I’m on my second “Pica” (aka Clara, radler, panache)….basically beer with sparkling lemonade in it. Sitting here enjoying a drink on a cool evening by the river while I blog about my day.

Oh…and the grossest moment of the day? When I popped the giant blister on my pinkie toe and it squirted across the room.😜